Bénévole

crédit photo: UVM OSCR Community Coalition et ISGOOD

Cercles de soutien et de responsabilité

Le CoSA est un programme de réintégration basé sur un modèle international de justice réparatrice efficace visant à aider les délinquants graves à se réinsérer dans leur communauté. Les volontaires CoSA formés travaillent en équipes de trois à cinq et se réunissent chaque semaine avec le membre principal pour les aider à retourner dans la communauté et à gérer la vie quotidienne. Ceci comprend:

  • suivant les règles de surveillance établies par le Département des services correctionnels.

  • agir de manière à ne pas blesser les autres.

  • assumer la responsabilité de ses actes en réparant les infractions passées.

  • obtenir de l'aide pour des problèmes mentaux ou émotionnels tels que la toxicomanie, la dépression ou des troubles d'apprentissage.

  • pratiquer de nouvelles attitudes et comportements productifs.

  • organiser les besoins de transport.

  • trouver un emploi.

  • créer et vivre dans un budget.

  • développer des solutions constructives aux problèmes.

  • planifier l’avenir.

La mission d'un CoSA est d'améliorer la sécurité communautaire et de réparer les relations en aidant les membres principaux à rejoindre avec succès la communauté et à ne plus commettre d'infractions. Le cercle CoSA aide le membre principal à prendre l'apprentissage et la conscience de soi acquis grâce au traitement et à l'utiliser dans la vie quotidienne. De plus, le cercle tiendra le membre principal responsable du respect des attentes après la libération et du développement de relations saines. Au fur et à mesure que le membre principal grandit et reconstruit les connexions communautaires, le cercle représentera les besoins de la communauté par rapport à ceux du membre principal.

Contactez Stuart Recicar au (802) 540-1719 ou srecicar@burlingtonvt.gov pour en savoir plus.

Aidez-nous à garder la «communauté» dans notre

Centre de justice communautaire!

Voir ci-dessous pour les opportunités de bénévolat actuelles:

Panneaux

Pouvez-vous consacrer deux heures par semaine à apporter l'équité et la justice à Burlington?

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre aux autres membres de la communauté pour aborder l'impact du crime du point de vue d'une partie responsable (délinquant) et d'une partie touchée (victime). Ce groupe explorera les torts qui ont été causés aux individus et à la communauté et aidera la partie responsable à faire amende honorable.

Nous sommes particulièrement intéressés à nous efforcer de représenter la diversité de notre communauté (âge, race, identité de genre, religion, statut socio-économique, etc.)

Notre processus comprend une demi-heure d'orientation des bénévoles, une demande écrite, un entretien, une vérification des références et des antécédents, une renonciation à la responsabilité, un accord de confidentialité et une formation approfondie de 12 heures sur les pratiques réparatrices. Veuillez contacter Rachel Jolly au (802) 865-7185 ou rjolly@burlingtonvt.gov pour vous inscrire à une orientation.

Soutenir les victimes à travers

Don de biens ou de services

Parallel Justice for Victims of Crime est toujours reconnaissant pour les services offerts (massage, ménage, réparation automobile, etc.) ou le remplacement de biens volés. Contactez Kim Jordan au (802) 264-0764 ou kjordan@burlingtonvt.gov pour en savoir plus.

200, rue Church
Burlington, VT 05401


(802) 865-7155

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
CedoBanner.png

200 Church Street
Burlington, VT 05401


(802) 865-7155

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Volunteer

photo credit: UVM OSCR Community Coalition and ISGOOD

Circles of Support and Accountability

CoSA is a reentry program based on a successful international restorative justice model of assisting serious offenders to reintegrate into their communities. Trained CoSA volunteers work in teams of three to five and meet weekly with the core member to support them in returning to the community and managing everyday living.  This includes:

  • following the supervision rules set by the Department of Corrections.

  • acting in ways that do not hurt others.

  • taking responsibility for one's actions by making amends for past offenses.

  • getting help for mental or emotional problems such as addictions, depression, or learning disabilities.

  • practicing productive new attitudes and behaviors.

  • arranging for transportation needs.

  • finding a job.

  • creating and living within a budget.

  • developing constructive solutions to problems.

  • planning for the future.

The mission of a CoSA is to enhance community safety and repair relationships by supporting core members to successfully rejoin the community and commit no further offenses.   The CoSA circle helps the core member take the learning and self-awareness gained from treatment and utilize it in everyday life. Additionally, the circle will hold the core member accountable for adherence to post-release expectations and for developing healthy relationships. As the core member grows and rebuilds community connections, the circle will represent the needs of the community in relationship to those of the core member.

Contact Stuart Recicar at (802) 540-1719 or srecicar@burlingtonvt.gov to learn more.

Help us keep the “community” in our

Community Justice Center!

See below for current volunteer opportunities:

Panels

 

Can you spare two hours a week to help bring equity and justice to Burlington?

We invite you to join fellow community members in addressing the impact of crime from the perspective of a responsible party (offender) and affected party (victim). This group will explore the harms that have been done to individuals and the community and will help the responsible party make amends.  

We are especially interested in striving to represent the diversity of our community (age, race, gender identity, religion, socio-economic status, etc.)

Our process involves a 1/2 hour volunteer orientation, a written application, interview, reference and background check, liability waiver, confidentiality agreement, and an in-depth, 12 hour restorative practices training. Please contact Rachel Jolly at (802) 865-7185 or rjolly@burlingtonvt.gov to sign up for an orientation.

Support victims 

Parallel Justice volunteers contact people who experienced crime and harm in Burlington to offer support and assistance they may need, even if the person responsible is not identified. Parallel Justice volunteers also help with awareness campaigns to reduce crime and harm. To learn more, contact Anthony Jackson-Miller at (802) 540-2394 or ajacksonmiller@bpdvt.org. 

Donate goods or services

 

Parallel Justice for Victims of Crime is always grateful for donated services (massage, house cleaning, automotive repair, etc...) or replacements of stolen goods. Contact Kim Jordan at (802) 264-0764 or kjordan@burlingtonvt.gov to learn more.